Lacrosse Champions

Lacrosse Champions - Recent News - Te Awamutu College

Te Awamutu College was crowned champion of the Waikato Lacrosse Boy's High School League at the weekend, after an edge-of-your-seat final against Hamilton Boys' High School.
Waikato Lacrosse Boys' High School League is played indoors at the Inline Hockey Rink in Hamilton.
The boys play box lacrosse, a fast-paced indoor version of the field game.
Te Awamutu and Hamilton Boys met twice during the round-robin and were well matched. Hamilton Boys had won the first game 7-6, and the second game had gone to Te Awamutu 9-2. The final between the two teams was always going to be a tough contest.
In the opening minutes, Te Awamutu's Elijah Lee scored the first goal of the match.
Even though Te Awamutu stuck to their structured offence and defence, Hamilton Boys came back with three goals in the first half, followed by a fourth early in the second half to lead 4-1.
"Though the morale of Te Awamutu team was looking low, this was not the first time they had been in this situation," says Te Awamutu coach Will Chisholm explains.
Te Awamutu's captain Charlie Mason came back with a goal to kick-start the team to fight back.
Jack Gibson led Te Awamutu's defensive squad and was able to keep Hamilton Boy's off the scoreboard for the remainder of the half.
Te Awamutu then completed the come-back, scoring two goals to Sam Harris and Elijah Lee to force a draw and sudden-death play-off.
Both teams battled it out for eight minutes before the Te Awamutu offence was able to create a scoring opportunity with a feed to Elliot Parkes who scored the winning goal.
"It was a nail-biter of a game, with Te Awamutu coming back from three goals down to win in overtime," said Chisholm after the match.
"The parents and coaching staff couldn't have been more proud over the team for their efforts and were able to celebrate with a victory."
As well as strong play from the on-field players, Chisholm noted goalie Adam Bigham had a big game and didn't let the pressure get to him, keeping Te Awamutu in the game.
In the other final matches, Cambridge High School won against St John's College 9-2 to take third place and Hillcrest High School took the honours 11-4 against Morrinsville College for fifth.

Website & KAMAR Integration by Inbox Design